Soeben hatte ich einen sehr freundlichen Apple Mitarbeiter am Telefon, nachdem die App erneut in Review war.

Gedächnis-Protokoll: Er meinte das die YouTube-App nicht explizit über das Hacking sei und somit ok ist. CCC-TV hat hauptsächlich Inhalte, meint er, die über das Hacken sind. Unsere Organisation (er meint den CCC) ist eine aus Hackern bestehende Vereinigung. Dies hat er auf der Webseite ccc.de gelesen.

Eine Lösung hatte er auch für mich: Wir sollen die angemahnten Videos entfernen und die App erneut einreichen, er würde diese dann durchwinken.

Nun, dass widerspricht sich in vielfältiger Hinsicht. YouTube könnte auch die Inhalte entfernen bevor sie zugelassen werden. Aber auf diese Debatte lasse ich mich nicht mehr ein, ich merke das dies eine Sackgasse ist.
Eigentlich liegt die Lösung nahe: die 7 Videos ausblenden… aber das ist ja auch völlig Banane. Wenn ich das machen würde, dann reden wir wirklich von einer Zensur.
Klar könnte man nun tricksen und die entsprechenden Videos verstecken, oder nach dem Review Prozess wieder aktivieren immer auf die Gefahr hin wieder aus dem Store entfernt zu werden. Ich sträube mich momentan dagegen. Ganz oder gar nicht. Der Anruf zeigte das es hier nicht mehr um Hacks geht, sondern um ein Statement.

Das sind erste Gedanken direkt nach dem Telefonat.

Apple Antwortete dann noch schriftlich über das „Resolution Center“:

November 3, 2015 at 9:29 PM
From Apple

Hello Kris,

Thanks for your time on the phone today.

As we discussed, we found content in your app that is not appropriate for an app on the App Store. Specifically, content related to jailbreaking or hacking Apple devices is not acceptable in your app. It would be appropriate to remove this content and resubmit your app for review.

We have now rejected your app for the App Store Review Guidelines detailed below.

PLA 3.2 (e)

We found that your app contains information on hacking Apple’s operating system(s), which is not in compliance the Apple Developer Program License Agreement.

„3.2 (e) You will not, through use of Apple Software, services or otherwise, create any Application or other program that would disable, hack or otherwise interfere with the Security Solution, or any security, digital signing, digital rights management, verification or authentication mechanisms implemented in or by the iPhone operating system software, iPod touch operating system software, this Apple Software, any services or other Apple software or technology, or enable others to do so.“

We encourage you to review your app concept and evaluate whether you can incorporate different content and features that are in compliance with the Apple Developer Program License Agreement.For app design information, check out the videos: „The Ingredients of Great Apps“ and “iPhone and iPad User Interface Design,” available on the iOS Developer Center.

You may also wish to review the sections, ”Design Principles“ in the iOS Human Interface Guidelines.

We hope you will consider making the necessary changes to be in compliance with the App Store Review Guidelines and will resubmit your revised binary.

Please feel free to contact me at +1-408-974-2992 between 8AM-5PM Pacific Standard Time if you need further clarification.

Best regards,
App Store Review